La Boutique
en en ▼
HomeOur News10 secrets of Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris

10 secrets of Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris

For its 10 years, Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris reveals you 10 of its secrets

1. Googbye Marylou
On the 800th day of his stay at Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, a famous french singer had a revelation for the writing of one of his beautiful songs. It is indeed to Marylou, a receptionist that he met at this time, that Michel Polnareff dedicated his work: Goodbye Marylou

2. Flash Back
The Katara cinema recently acquired a 35mm film reel with a double projector. This rare and old material is now soughtafter by many renowned filmmakers such as Quentin Tarantino, Christopher Nolan or even Wes Anderson for the screening of their films.

3. Vestige
Staircase dating from 1928, black bricks and colored stained glass… Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris has a significant history. This vestige reveals an old convent that once belonged to the Augustine sisters of the Congregation of Notre-Dame de Paris.

4. Seven Wonder
Each floor of the hotel has mirrors scribbled with small drawings. These symbols were actually made by Stephen Smith to serve as signage. The artist named this work Seven Wonders, as the symbols are scattered across the seven floors of the hotel, classified into several themes, from nature to space…

5. Magic Mirror
When entering the bathrooms of Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, guests will discover a world of minerals, stone, steel, mirrors. These mirrors have a specific type of glass that very few manufacturers know how to shape: the «White Glass Mirror», offering a light similar to the natural light, ideal for makeup.

6. Let’s Look At The Moon
Philippe Starck awakens your creativity. So when inspiration arises in the middle of the night, do not hesitate to write your thoughts and ideas on the lampshades next to the bed.

7. Wooded Deer
On the first floor of Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, a family of wooded deer awaits you. A work by the Russian artist Nikolay Polisky who has the particularity of creating ephemeral artistic installations, ment to disappear in their natural environment, or by the artist ’s own action. As «saved», these deer highlight an exceptional work .

8. Tips for making a perfect bed
To avoid creasing the linen sheets, our housekeepers softly spray water on the entire surface, and then quick pull on each side of the bed, for a perfect finish.

9. A sense of Coco Chanel
The staircase of Le Royal Monceau Raffles – Paris was inspired by Coco Chanel’s staircase from Rue Cambon. Thanks to the mirrors all the way through the staircase, Coco Chanel could take a quick peek sitting on the top of the steps and observe discreetly the reactions during the fashion shows.

10. From car to cinema
Have you ever experienced the extraordinary softness of the armchairs of the Katara cinema? The manufacturing of these seats was indeed carried out by Contino Technology. The company
is specialised in the automotive industry and expert in the superposition of different foams and densities, creating a subtle cover hard to escape from.

For more information about the 10 secrets of Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, click here : Royal-Monceau-10-ans-10-secrets-presse-ENG

Veuillez pivoter votre périphérique

La Boutique
fr fr ▼
AccueilNos ActualitésLes 10 secrets du Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris

Les 10 secrets du Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris

À l’occasion de ses 10 ans, Le Royal Monceau - Raffles Paris vous dévoile 10 de ses secrets…

1. Googbye Marylou
C’est après un séjour de 800 jours au Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, qu’un célèbre chanteur eu une révélation pour l’écriture d’une de ses belles chansons. C’est en effet à Marylou, ancienne standardiste de l’époque, que Michel Polnareff a dédié son oeuvre : Goodbye Marylou

2. Flash Back
Le cinéma Katara s’est récemment équipé d’une bobine 35mm avec un double projecteur. Ce matériel rare et à la technique ancienne est aujourd’hui recherché par de nombreux grands cinéastes comme Quentin Tarantino, Christopher Nolan ou encore Wes Anderson pour la projection de leurs films.

3. Ainsi Soit-Il
Briques noires et vitraux colorés, escalier datant de 1928… Le Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris témoigne d’une histoire précieuse. Ce vestige dévoile un ancien couvent qui appartenait autrefois aux soeurs augustines de la congrégation de Notre-Dame de Paris.

4. Attention Les Yeux
Chaque étage de l’hôtel abrite des miroirs gribouillés de petits dessins, tel un geste aventuriste qu’un enfant aurait pu effectuer sur un mur à reflets. Ces symboles ont en réalité été réalisés par Stephen Smith pour servir de signalétique. L’artiste a nommé cette oeuvre Seven Wonders, les symboles étant dispersés dans les septs étages de l’hôtel, classés suivant plusieurs thèmes, de la nature à l’espace…

5. Belle Au Naturel
En pénétrant dans les salles de bain du Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, les hôtes découvrent un univers minéral, de pierre, d’acier, de miroirs. Ces miroirs sont dotés d’un type de verre que très peu de fabricants savent façonner dans le monde : le «White Glass Mirror», offrant un éclairage similaire à la lumière naturelle, idéal pour toute mise en beauté.

6. Let’s Look At The Moon
Philippe Starck appelle l’artiste qui sommeille en vous. Un bureau contre le lit, des petits mots griffonnés sur les abat-jour : n’hésitez pas à y ajouter vos idées en pleine nuit, quand l’inspiration surgit…

7. Les Rescapés
C’est en arrivant au 1er étage du Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris qu’un rassemblement unique d’une quarantaine de cerfs boisés s’offre à nous. Une oeuvre de l’artiste russe Nikolay Polisky, ayant la particularité de créer des installations éphémères, vouées à disparaître de par leur environnement naturel, ou de la propre action de l’artiste. Comme « sauvés », ces cerfs témoignent d’une oeuvre exceptionnelle.

8. La Recette Pour Un Lit Parfait
Pour éviter tout froissage des draps en lin, nos femmes de chambres vaporisent délicatement de l’eau sur la surface totale des draps disposés, en tirant d’un coup sec de chaque côté du lit, pour une finition parfaite.

9. L’escalier Aux Miroirs
Tel l’escalier miroité de Coco Chanel rue Cambon, l’escalier du Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris aux multiples chandeliers a été dessiné suivant l’inspiration de Gabrielle Chanel : disposer des miroirs tout au long de l’escalier afin d’observer en toute discrétion, du haut des marches, la réaction des invités lors des défilés.

10. De l’Automobile Au Cinéma
Le moelleux extraordinaire des fauteuils du cinéma Katara ne sont pas anodins. La fabrication de ces sièges a en effet été réalisée par Contino Technologie, une entreprise spécialisée dans l’industrie automobile, experte dans la superposition de différentes mousses et densités. Un habillage subtil dont il est difficile de s’échapper une fois installé.

Pour en découvrir davantage sur les 10 secrets du Royal Monceau – Raffles Paris, cliquez ici : Royal-Monceau-10-ans-10-secrets-presse-FR

Veuillez pivoter votre périphérique